by Samana on FatCat Records

Released 30/05/2019

"Ascension is the passage from one plane of thought and existence to another, though deliberations of love, loss and freedom. The album, which was composed in the remote valleys of Wales solely by Rebecca Rose Harris and Franklin Mockett, offers ruminations' of solitude in the isolation of nature. Each song is a meditation laid to tape, forming an album of a natural order of thought and feeling to take us to great heights."

Samana was realised in the heart of an Austrian forest surrounding a secret lake 3000 meters above sea level, during a journey the pair undertook across the natural wildernesses and distant cities of Europe; unaware of when they would return or where the road would take them.

Between themselves, Rebecca Rose Harris and Franklin Mockett are multi-disciplinary artists. Franklin crafts the instrumentation, recording, and production of the music to tape, whilst Rebecca Rose is the visionary behind the conceptual imagery, artwork, lyrics and film. The process by which all works are recorded is of great importance to Samana, who compose their art in their analogue recording studio and darkroom in the remote mountains of Wales.

Samana inhabit a musical space somewhere between Weyes Blood, Nico, Beach House and PJ Harvey, yet they possess a unique spirit born out of their nomadic existence. Each song is written with its own distinct weight and significance, born from the interpretation of dreams, the philosophies of ancient rituals and personal experience of love, loss and death

Startlingly engaging and intense live performers, the pair most recently played a handful of shows earlier this year in their native Brighton with Micah P. Hinson and The Howl & The Hum and a show at the Shacklewell Arms in London. Last year saw them make an acclaimed appearance at the Great Escape Festival, where they played a hypnotic show at the One Church and they have recently announced a number of shows in the forthcoming months.

Read More

  • 2xLP

    Limited Edition double vinyl version. 250 copies only.

    Add to Cart
  • LP

    Add to Cart
  • CD

    Add to Cart
  • WAV (16-bit)

    Add to Cart
  • MP3 (320KPS)

    Add to Cart


  1. Before The Flood
  2. Harvest
  3. The Art Of Revolution
  4. The Sky Holds Our Years
  5. Take Me In
  6. De Profundis
  7. Blue Requiem
  8. I'll Keep You With Me
  9. Beneath The Ice
  10. The Lightness Of Being

More by this artist

You may also like...

Track Title