Staring At The X

$ 17.00

01. Born Into
02. Future Shadows
03. The News
04. They Pray Execution
05. Staring At The X
06. Blank Appeal
07. Mtns are Mtns
08. Visions In Plastic



With their sophomore record, Forest Fire - songwriter/vocalist Mark Thresher, guitarist/multi-instrumentalist Nathan Delffs (formerly of Shaky Hands), bassist/multi instrumentalist Natalie Stormann, drummer Robert Pounding, and producer/keyboardist Adam Spittler - reject the what's next-next attitude plaguing so many of the NYC/Brooklyn scene, innovating sonically at their own pace while maintaining a traditionalist's focus on songwriting.

Staring At The X is an electrifying leap forward from the "cosmic Americana" of their lauded debut, Survival, which was named album of the year by La Blogotheque.

Staring At The X brings together swaggering, guitar-led breakdowns that recall NYC forebears VU or Television (the band's recent live performances, especially, bring to mind the Velvets with long-form, restless "Sister Ray"-style extended jams) with romantic, darkly insistent British new wave-styled pop; even Floyd-worthy extended space-outs make an appearance, particularly in sinister, doom-motorik album centerpiece "They Pray Execution Style."

Forest Fire have spent much of the years between releases touring, including a run supporting Phosphorescent and several festival dates; along the way they've shared stages with the likes of Sharon Van Etten, Xiu Xiu, Papercuts, Gang Gang Dance, Psychedelic Horseshit, Anna Calvi, Julianna Barwick, and Cass McCombs, among others. 


Related Products