$ 17.00

01. Fall Forever
02. Super Rat
03. (I’d Rather Be) Anywhere But Here
04. Bud
05. Killer Bangs
06. Biro
07. Choker
08. No Spare Key
09. Joey
10. Fortune Cookie
11. All Dragged Up
12. Braid Burn Valley



Recorded at legendary producer Peter Katis’ Tarquin Studios (The National, Interpol) in just ten days last November, Honeyblood is an accomplished and delightfully fierce record. Honeyblood’s songs are fully formed and perfectly assured. With nothing extraneous, their music is driven through tightly-bound instrumentals and laced with the sheer strength and beauty of Stina’s voice. The songs resonate with deep melodic hooks and the kind of uncomplicated charm that’ve drawn contemporary comparisons to the likes of the Dum Dum Girls, as well as the strident delivery of Jenny Lewis. The band also tellingly cite the darker currents of The Breeders, PJ Harvey and Throwing Muses as lifelong influences.

From the urgent guitar and dive-bomb drums of opener “Fall Forever,” the album twists through the gutsy punk of “Killer Bangs,” to reveal discordant anthems like “Super Rat.” It has pared down alt pop gems in the likes of “Biro” and “No Spare Key,” but also more country/folk influenced moments like, “(I’d Rather Be) Anywhere But Here,” “Braid Burn Valley” and “Bud.” Honeyblood pulls in elements of lo-fi punk rock, unfettered indie pop and a deep seated passion for classic rootsy song crafting that help give the album something of an undeniable feel.

Related Products