Royal Family - Divorce

$ 17.00

01. Wedding Rachenitsa 
02. Krivo Sadovsko Horo 
03. Pajdusko
04. Atmadja Duma Strachilu (Revolution Song)
05. Elenska Rachenitsa 
06. Kopanitsa 
07. Trakijska Racenica
08. Cetvorno Horo
09. Winding Horo 

Founded in the autumn of 2004 by nine musicians living in Reykjavik, Iceland, Stórsveit Nix Noltes (Stórsveit meaning ‘Big Band’) are a hugely talented and creative collective united through a mutual fascination for folk music from Bulgaria and the Balkan areas. Comprising of members of múm, Benni Hemm Hemm, Lost in Hildurness, Númer Null, rúnk, Kanada, Hestbak, and Kria Brekkan, among others, the group initially took shape at a class led by guitarist Hilmar Jensson at the Iceland Academy of the Arts (all were composition students except for Kristín Anna Valtýsdóttir, who at the time was the singing and playing as an original member of múm).

Now expanded to eleven members, Stórsveit Nix Noltes recorded their second album, ‘Royal Family – Divorce’, outside Reykjavik during the last few sunny summer days of August 2006. Produced by the band themselves, the album was domestically self-released in December 2007. Remastered in October 2008, the record was picked up by FatCat and is set for its first release outside of Iceland in 2009. All the songs on ‘Royal Family – Divorce’ are transcriptions from traditional folk songs from Bulgaria and the Balkan areas. The transcriptions were arranged from CDRs and audio files, which in most cases contained little or no information about the composers or artists playing, leading to a long research process to ensure that all tracks were traditional songs rather than original compositions.