Say Yes

$ 18.00


01. Hold Your Fire
02. Avalanche
03. Say Yes
04. Saccharine
05. Lux
06. Veronica
07. V.I.T.R.I.O.L.
08. Kitty Pride
09. Still My Dream
10. Don't Forget
11. Idyllwild

Say Yes began as an entirely self-funded project. "We had to borrow money to get the album made-it was very risky," explains Costelloe. The task was only made more challenging when the duo's laptop, containing demos and ideas for the new record, was stolen in December of 2014. "We had to start everything from scratch-it was fight or flight and we decided to fight," they say. "Pretty much everything that could fall apart for us, did. This included parting with our label [Mute], breaking up a relationship, band members leaving and losing all of our music when my apartment was broken in to. We didn't want to give up, or revel in our misery. We decided instead to try and turn it into something magic."
Typically confessional, it's hard not to connect with the raw honesty of the lyrics on Say Yes. Sonically the record still sounds very much like Big Deal, but it evidences a certain newfound confidence. "We've done everything backwards," the pair explains. "Most bands spend a few years figuring themselves out before releasing a record. We released a record and then have spent a few years finding ourselves."
Say Yes is arguably the most open and emotionally provocative of all their works. "We've always been pretty private about our relationship within the band, but feel more comfortable talking about it for this record, as it's pivotal in the placement of our career." they explain. "It's about taking all kinds of heartbreak and defeat, and just looking at it dead in the eye and going for it."