$ 17.00

01. Safe Around The Edges
02. Miss Out These Days
03. Gold Diggers
04. Hunting Men
05. Slash The Night
06. Run Wild
07. Machines
08. Avenue
09. Crystal Clear
10. Zenith Diamond
11. Castle Sand Ambient
12. Progress



His Clancyness is the alias of Jonathan Clancy. Born in Ottawa and raised between Canada and Italy, Clancy moved back and forth between the two countries up until his late teenage years, when he finally settled in Bologna. Gaining early experience through playing in a number of hardcore / punk bands, and having toured the world in a couple of indie outfits, Jonathan struck out on his own back in 2009 and started to gain some early recognition across the internet when he began leaking out a series of bedroom-recorded psych-pop gems.

As an avowed rock and pop culture obsessive, Clancy cites a long and varied list of artists as influences - Swell Maps, Can, Bowie, Modern Lovers, Lee Hazlewood, Scott Walker, The Gun Club, Women, Stevie Nicks, Gastr Del Sol, Zombies and "just about every psychedelic pop nugget ever produced."The new record, Vicious, was produced by Chris Koltay (Liars, Atlas Sound, Lotus Plaza, Akron Family, Dirtbombs) at High Bias Recordings in Detroit. Recorded as a trio (including Paul Pieretto and Jacopo Borazzo on bass and drums), the album marks the first time Clancy recorded with a band.

Vicious is warm and precise, filled with an unfaltering procession of addictive, hook-filled tracks. Described by Clancy as “a sassy, dreamy glam rocknroll album”, the softer-edges of His Clancyness’ earlier recordings are here replaced by a dynamic of real drive and bite, where every part feels perfectly balanced and intended. The songs still stretch out expansively but everything about the record (from the writing to the playing and production) is bolder, more forceful, cohesive and concise. The guitars are luminous and the whole is powerfully underpinned with a taut, punchy rhythmic spine that fits comfortably within a very modern American take on krautrock’s motorik propulsiveness.

Clancy’s impressionistic yet emotionally engaging lyrics augment the surreal dream-like quality of the album. Writing songs often functions as a form of escape for Clancy, something which is alluded to in the album’s title, as he explains: “Vicious is how I overcome distance. I want to be vicious. I can't be vicious. I can be vicious on an album made up of songs. Songs are marked by violence, general wrongdoing and finally peace. You can beat loss, escape territories and find new lands in a heartbeat. Those are songs I like to write. In a new city you can wear a mask, develop a new persona, change path. I've lived in twelve different cities. This is sort of what this album deals with for me. It's the harshest things I've ever written, I wanted to go to places that are as far as possible from me.”

“[Kurt Vile and The War on Drugs are ]Fine influences to have in any case, and a definite scale up from the Italian/Canadian dreamier early singles-- something signaled by the Dolby Surround Sound-ish crank that heralds "Machines"' tarnished silvery motorik swirl. There's a kind sneer to Jonathan Clancy's voice as he drawls off a list of abstract, impressionistic images that are very much his own.” - Pitchfork

"'Machines' is a spacious, psych-tinged rock song about feeling too much part of a mechanism and not being able to shake it while 'Zenith Diamond' is an exuberant psych-pop single." - Stereogum

“"Machines", takes up the project's signature sound of moderately nostalgic, unassuming yet disarmingly candid rock and roll.” - AdHoc

Related Products