Chinese Fountain

by The Growlers on FatCat Records

Released 29/09/2014

The Growlers return with their fourth long player "Chinese Fountain".

Having demoed the tracks at guitarist Matt Taylor's Topanga home, the 11-track album was recorded quickly in a week-and-a-half at Sea Horse Sands Studio in downtown Los Angeles. Produced by JP Plunier.

Self-describing their music as "Beach Goth", sunburned and salty, the term perfectly describes their distinctive melding of reverb heavy surf guitar and Bakersfield-style honky tonk with '80s post-punk.

"The band played better than they've ever played," says Brooks Nielsen. "We've got the process down now. There's less screwing around to get the songs laid out and we weren't waiting around for take after take. We knew it and we played without much time to spare."

The Growlers are: Brooks Nielsen (vocals), Matt Taylor (guitar), Scott Montoya (drums), Anthony Braun Perry (bass) & Kyle Straka (keyboards and guitar).

Read More

  • WAV (16-bit)

    FATDA133 — £7.99
    Add to Cart
  • MP3 (320KPS)

    FATDA133 — £6.99
    Add to Cart


  1. Big Toe
  2. Black Memories
  3. Chinese Fountain
  4. Dull Boy
  5. Good Advice
  6. Going Gets Tough
  7. Magnificent Sadness
  8. Love Test
  9. Not The Man
  10. Rare Hearts
  11. Purgatory Drive

More by this artist

You may also like...

Track Title